THE PART OF THE PA

Chaudhary Devi Lal University, Sirsa

(Established by the State Legislature Act 9 of 2003)

DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS

Situation of the Office:

The office of the Chairperson of the Department is located in Room No. 01, C.V. Raman Bhawan, Chaudhary Devi Lal University, Sirsa.

ii Officers/Teachers/Employees working in the Department:

Sr. No.	Name of the officer/Employee	Designation
1.	Dr. Sushil Kumar	Professor &
		Chairperson
2.	Dr. Dharambir Singh	Assistant Professor
3.	Dr. Ram Mehar Singh	Assistant Professor
4.	Dr. Rachna	Assistant Professor
5.	Mrs. Rajni	Asstt. Prof. (Contractual)
6.	Sh. Om Parkash	Asstt. Prof. (Contractual)
7.	Dr. Priyanka	Asstt. Prof. (Contractual)
8.	Dr. Amrik Singh	Asstt. Prof. (Contractual)
9.	Sh. Sunil Kumar	S.S.S.
10.	Sh. Anand Kumar	Lab Attendant
		(through Outsourcing)
11.	Sh. Suresh Kumar	Lab Attendant
		(through Outsourcing)
12.	Mrs. Pinki	Peon
		(through Outsourcing)

Dealing Work/particulars of the Department, its functions:

The Department of Physics was established in 2004 and is running following programmes under Choice Based Credit System (CBCS):

- 1. M.Sc. (Physics) 2 year Programme.
- 2. Ph. D. (Physics)

Department is making sincere efforts for imparting quality teaching & learning and carrying out quality research. Department encourages its students for quality education and knowledge for their employment. Department performs the duty of compiling annual performance (Annual Report).

The Powers and duties of its officers and employees:

a) Chairperson:

- 1. Hold meetings of the Staff Council at regular intervals, give effect to its decisions, and maintain record thereof.
- 2. Dispose of, promptly and expeditiously, all proposals/requests put up by the faculty in the manner required and/or prescribed.

- 3. Draw time-table for teaching and practical work well in time and allot teaching work-load to the teachers according to approved norms of the University, in consultation with the Staff Council.
- 4. Exercise effective control over teaching schedule and ensure regular class teaching, without any unauthorized absence and indifference.
- 5. Convene meetings of Board(s) of Studies as and when required, get their business transacted well in time, and maintain record thereof.
- 6. Provide necessary support for timely conduct of examinations and prompt evaluation work in respect of the courses offered.
- 7. Facilitate quick processing and submission of research proposals by the faculty and hassle free subsequent execution of research project on approval.
- Propose actions and plans for achieving academic excellence and enhance faculty interaction at wider-level.
- 9. Promote healthy work culture in the department, and conduct oneself in a just and fair manner, in the interest of overall academic growth.
- 10. Maintain effective liaison with the students in order to learn and redress their grievances and effectively draw them into the teaching learning activities of the department.
- II. Suggest and organize Seminar/Workshops/Conferences on the topics of contemporary importance.
- 12. Monitor and update the University Website in respect of ones Department/Institute on a continual basis.
- 13. Perform all such functions as are laid down in the Statutes, Ordinances, and rules of the University, or those laid down by the University Authorities.
- 14. Discharge such other duties as may be assigned by the Vice-Chancellor from time to time.
- 15. Verification of attendance of staff.
- b) Professors/Associate Professors/Assistant Professors has her duties to teach and guide/supervisefor research to the students and to help in the administrative, financial and policy matters of the department.
 - c) Sr. Scale Stenographer is to maintain the office record.
 - d) Tech. Assistant/Lab. Attendants are to look after/maintain the laboratories of the Department.
 - e) Peon is to carry the files, dak and circulars from one to other officials/officers/teachers of the Department/University.
- Record of Office:

The office maintains record of its files, students and other relevant works.

Facility for information seekers:

The office record as well as information regarding the department is available in the office of the department and provided to the information seekers as and when so needed with the approval of the competent authority.

The Channel/Procedure followed in the decision making/supervision:

Decision making, accountability and supervision is made by the Chairperson and the staff council of the Department.

Warious Bodies of the Department of Chemistry:

A) Staff Council:

Member Name Department/Institute Designation	
--	--

1.	Prof. Sushil Kumar,	Department of Physics, CDLU, Sirsa	Chairperson
2.	. Dharamvir Singh	Department of Physics, CDLU, Sirsa	Member
3.	. Ram Mehar Singh	Department of Physics, CDLU, Sirsa	Member
4.	. Rachna	Department of Physics, CDLU, Sirsa	Member

B) Departmental Research Committee:

Sr.	Member Name	Department/Institute	Designation
1.	Prof. Sushil	Department of Physics,	Chairperson
	Kumar,	CDLU, Sirsa	
2.	. Dharamvir Singh	Department of Physics, CDLU, Sirsa	Member
3.	. Ram Mehar Singh	Department of Physics, CDLU, Sirsa	Member
4.	. Rachna	Department of Physics, CDLU, Sirsa	Member

C) Post Graduate Board of Studies & Research:

(i)	Chairperson of Department	Chairperson-Ex Officio
(ii)	1) Prof. Sushil Kumar. Department of Physics	Member
	CDLU Sirsa	
	(Term upto two years w.e.f. 13.06.2019)	
(iii)	Assistant Professor:	
	1) Dr. Ram Mehar Singh, Asstt. Prof.,	Member
	Department of Physics, CDLU Sirsa	
	(Term upto 08.05.2020)	
	2) Dr. Rachna, Asstt. Prof,. Department of	
	Physics, CDLU Sirsa	Member
	(Term upto 08.05.2020)	
(iv)	Two teachers include Head of PG Dept. :	
	1) Dr. Sanjay Kumar, Asstt. Prof., Govt.	Member
	National College Sirsa	
	(Term upto two years w.e.f. 13.06.2019)	
(V)	To Outside Experts :	
	1) Prof. Kulvir Singh, Department of Physics,	Member
	& Material Science, Thaper University,	
	Patiala (Term upto two years w.e.f.	
	13.06.2019)	Member
	2) Prof. Vinay Gupta, Department of Physics	
	& Astrophysics, University of Delhi, Delhi	
	(Term upto two years w.e.f. 13.06.2019)	

D) Under Graduate Board of Studies:

1.	Chairperson, Deptt.of Physics, Chaudhary Devi Lal University, Sirsa	Chairperson- Ex-Offico
2.	Prof. Sushil Kumar, Deptt. of Physics, Chaudhary Devi Lal University, Sirsa	Member
3.	Dr. Rachna, Assistant Professor, Deptt. of Physics, Chaudhary Devi Lal University, Sirsa	Member
4.	(i) Dr. Saruchi Rani, Assistant Professor, Jan Nayak Chaudhary Devi Lal Memorial (PG) College, Sirsa.	Member
	(ii) Ms. Bharti, Asstt. Professor, Govt.	Member
	College for Girls, Rania. (iii) Sh. Kapil Dev, Asstt. Prof. K.T. Govt. College, Ratia.	Member
	(iv) Sh. Amandeep, Asstt. Prof., Govt. National College, Sirsa.	Member
	(v) Sh. Sunil, Asstt. Prof., Dr. Bhim Rao	Member
	Ambedkar Govt. College, Dabwali. (vi) Sh. Vijay Kumar, Asstt. Prof. Govt. College, Bhattu Kalan, Fatehabad.	Member
5.	Two Outside Experts :	
	(i) Prof. Nawal Kishore, Department of Physics, Central University of Haryana, Mahindergarh	Member
	(ii) Prof. Fakir Chand, Department of Physics, Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra	Member

NOTE: Term of above members of UGBOS for two year w.e.f. 27.11.2019.

Additional information may be sought from concerned branch/ officer of the University.

CHAIRPERSON